Annie Lennox, Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Metallica and More Stars to Salute Elton John and Bernie Taupin at 2024 Gershwin Prize Celebration

An impressive lineup of performers has been announced for the tribute concert saluting Elton John and Bernie Taupin as the 2024 Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song honorees. Among the artists who will celebrate the music of the famed British songwriting duo are Garth Brooks, Metallica, Annie Lennox of Eurythmics, Brandi Carlile, and Maren Morris.

The show will take place March 20 in Washington, D.C. A special featuring highlights from the event will premiere April 8 on PBS at 8 p.m. ET. The program also will be available to stream via and the PBS App.

Billy Porter will host the celebration, and John and Taupin will appear at the event. The concert also will feature performances by pop singer/songwriter Charlie Puth and gospel artist Jacob Lusk.

John and Taupin began collaborating in 1967. Their long partnership has yielded an impressive body of work that includes such chart-topping hits as “Crocodile Rock,” “Benny and the Jets,” “Philadelphia Freedom,” “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart,” and “Candle in the Wind”.

Among John and Taupin’s many other achievements, the duo was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame together in 1992. They also were inducted separately into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. John was honored in 1994 and Taupin was inducted in 2023.