Cigarettes After Sex Share New Single

Cigarettes After Sex have shared their latest single ‘Tejano Blue’ from their forthcoming LP ‘X’s’ and have announced a world tour.

The new single sees the band’s frontman Greg Gonzalez give a nod to the music from his Texas childhood which inspired livelier tempos for their forthcoming tracks. Speaking of the song in a press release Gonzalez said: “I grew up in El Paso and Tejano music is huge there. You could go to a lot of the bars in the city and hear artists like Selena, Los Ángeles Azules and La Mafia playing over the speakers. It was in the atmosphere around me back then, but I always rejected it & gravitated towards anything else I was attracted to really.”

He continued: “Years later when I was living in New York City I finally started listening to Selena’s ‘Como La Flor’ at the same time that I was also listening to a lot of Cocteau Twins. I had the idea then to try to combine both of their sounds somehow, which felt a bit strange, but also felt like it was coming from a genuine place of rediscovering & finally connecting with the music that I heard around me in my youth.”

The band’s third LP ‘X’s’ is set for release July 12 via Partisan. You can pre-order / pre-save the album here.

Cigarettes After Sex ‘X’s track list is:
1. ‘X’s’
2. ‘Tejano Blue’
3. ‘Silver Sable’
4. ‘Hideaway’
5. ‘Holding you, Holding me’
6. ‘Dark Vacay’
7. ‘Baby Blue Movie’
8. ‘Hot’
9. ‘Dreams From Bunker Hill’
10. ‘Ambien Slide’